nevada law

Nevada Moped Laws 2024

Learn from a Nevada attorney on Nevada law for mopeds in 2024. Avoid fees and fines with this article.

Nevada Moped Laws 2024 main image

Before you hit the Nevada roadways on a moped, ensure you understand the state's laws, from registration and licensing to insurance and equipment requirements.

By following the moped laws we explain in this article, you may protect yourself from a costly fine and severe injury.

Starting this article, we explain what can be classified as a moped in Nevada.

What is Classified As a Moped in Nevada

According to Nevada moped laws, a moped is defined to be:

  • Two-wheeled vehicle.

  • Engine displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less or an electric motor with a maximum power output of 1,500 watts or less.

  • Maximum speed of 30 miles per hour.

Additional requirements for a vehicle to be classified as a moped are that it must not exceed 20 miles per hour within one mile after coming to a complete stop and must be equipped with an operable pedal that acts as an additional mode of propulsion.

Moped and Motorcycle Difference

A couple of crucial distinctions can be made when comparing a moped and a motorcycle, which include speed, cost, and safety.

However, the most noteworthy distinction is that moped drivers don't need a motorcycle license like their motorcycle-riding counterparts.

Examples of a Moped

If you are in the market for a moped or are just wondering what to expect, here are three examples of a moped:

  • Honda Ruckus

  • Vespa Primavera

  • Tomos Sprint

Nevada Registration and Licensing Laws For a Moped

Nevada Moped Laws 2024 Image 0

Nevada moped drivers must adhere to state registration and licensing laws or risk punishment.

Knowing Nevada registration and licensing laws will allow you to travel the roads of Nevada smoothly.

Registration Laws

Moped Registration Process

Registering your moped with the Nevada DMV office is a requirement.

To complete the moped registration, you must first have your moped inspected at a DMV or Sheriff's office; the inspection costs $1.

Then, you must bring all paperwork related to the moped, including the Dealer's Report of Sale, to the nearest DMV building.

When registering your moped with the Nevada DMV, you must pay a fee of $60, including a $33 registration fee, one year of Governmental Services Taxes based on vehicle value, license plate fees, and miscellaneous charges.

A DMV-issued title is also required to register the motor vehicle as a moped.

Special License Plate for Mopeds

Moped riders will be issued a unique license plate that comes in a handicapped version if needed. This distinctive incense plate will aid law enforcement and other drivers in recognizing a moped.

Licensing Laws

License Requirements for Moped Riders

To operate a moped in Nevada, you must possess a valid driver's license or an instruction permit. However, moped riders are not required to hold a motorcycle license, unlike motorcycle riders.

The optionality of a motorcycle license allows mopeds to be widely used by many people.


Moped riders are required to renew registration information with the Nevada DMV. This means owners must stay informed about renewal dates and any regulation changes.

Nevada Insurance Requirments For Moped Owners

Moped owners in Nevada must purchase liability insurance. Liability insurance will protect both the moped driver and others in an auto accident where the motor owner is at fault.

Liability insurance in Nevada must cover $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Like all others on the road, moped owners must carry a copy of their insurance documentation, driver's license, and registration information.

Importance of Understanding Coverage Limits

All moped owners should familiarize themselves with their insurance policies. This will allow them to make informed decisions when choosing an adequate protection plan.

Optional Coverage For Moped Drivers

While liability insurance is legally necessary to operate a moped in Nevada, moped riders may explore additional coverage options such as comprehensive insurance.

Comprehensive coverage will protect against non-accident-related damages such as theft, vandalism, or damages caused by nature.

Nevada Equipment Requirements Whening Driving a Moped


Moped in Nevada must be equipped with one or two headlamps. This includes a functioning lighted lamp on the front and back of the moped.

The tail lamp must emit a red light and be visible from at least 500 feet behind the vehicle.


Two mirrors with a reflection surface of not less than 3 inches in diameter are required. One mirror is to be mounted on each handlebar. The driver should be able to view from a distance of 200 feet.


Mopeds must be equipped with an audible horn from a minimum distance of 200 feet.


Fenders must cover moped wheels to prevent rocks, dirt, water, or other materials from being thrown to the rear.


Moped tires must have a US DOT number that indicates the tires meet all federal standards.


Mopeds must have at least one reflector no less than 20 inches or more than 60 inches from the ground.

Reflectors must be visible from all distances within 300 feet.


Moped mufflers must be in working order and prevent emissions greater than those listed by the Nevada DMV rules and regulations.

Where Are You Allowed To Ride a Moped in Nevada

Mopeds are allowed on Nevada roadways and hold the same rights as other motor vehicles. However, moped drivers must remain on the extreme right-hand side of the road.

However, exceptions to needing to stay on the right-hand side of the road are:

  • A single-traffic lane

  • When preparing to make a left turn

  • Told by a police officer

  • Right lane unsafe

Do Nevada Moped Laws Apply To Electric Bikes?

Nevada Moped Laws 2024 Image 1

Mopeds and electric bicycles are different, and it is crucial for riders to make the distinction when navigating the legal requirements accurately.

Classification of Electric bicycles

In Nevada, an electric bicycle can fall under three classification types, which are:

  • Class 1: An electric bicycle equipped with a motor that only functions when the rider is pedaling and turns off when the bike reaches 20 mph

  • Class 2: A motorized bike that has a motor is used to propel the bike without pedals but ceases at 20 mph

  • Class 3: Motorized bikes with a motor that assists only when pedaling and stops when the bike reaches 28 mph.

Separate Regulations For Electric Bikes

Nevada moped laws focus on gas-powered scooters with small engines. This means moped laws do not directly apply to electric bikes; instead, an electric bicycle will fall under its own regulations.

What To Do If You Are In a Moped Accident in Nevada

If in Nevada, you are in a moped accident, you should:

  • Stay Calm and Assess Injuries

  • Move to a Safe Location

  • Exchange Information

  • Document the Scene

  • Report the Accident to Law Enforcement

  • Seek Medical Treatment

  • Consult with a Nevada Car Accident Attorney

Picking The Right Attorney

If you are looking for expert legal guidance and support after a moped accident in Nevada, our team at The Rodney Okano Car Accident Lawyer Law Firm is here to help.

With over 20 years in Nevada personal injury law, our attorneys have obtained the justice and compensation that hundreds of clients deserve, and they will do the same for you.

Don't let the aftermath of a moped accident overtake you - call (702) 566 -3600 to schedule a free consultation today with a Nevada attorney.

Contact a nevada lawyer today

Your message has been received.

One of our attorneys will contact you using the number you provided.

Footer logo for Rodney Okano Car Accident Lawyer

First Name

Last Name

Next Arrow right

share this article

more from us

Henderson Police Report Pedestrian Fatality in Auto Accident

How To Determine Fault In A Rear-End Collision

What If My Medical Bills Are More Than My Settlement

Visit today for a free consultation.

Practice Areas

Auto Accidents

Car Accidents Truck Accidents Bus Accidents Taxi Accidents Aggressive Driving Accidents Hit And Run Accidents

Personal Injury

Dog Bites Wrongful Death

View All